Bitches Loves Freedom

Subtleties of freedom lay in something as sublime as picking up a book to read. That’s just what these derbyladies are doing! By reading banned books, they are exercising the freedom of their birthrights given to us by our forefathers. It’s a beautiful thing.  See for yourself.

Freedom is subtle & sublime as seen here

Freedom is subtle & sublime as seen here

These ladies of the Roller Derby league The Elm City Derby Damez in Keene, New Hampshire answered a call to action in celebration of freedom.

Meet now, Bitches Bruze,  who writes The promise of derby and share in her knowledge & inspiration. Take some time to visit all the many facets of her blog and read her response to the call of action.

bitches

                  Bitches Bruze/Amy Jo Moore  Reading SEX by Madonna

  • Mostly I play blocker, but I pivot often and some times jam. I’m in my 7th season of roller derby.
  • I am currently the co-Captain of the Elm City Derby Damez, a world-wide travel coach having coached around the US as well as England, Ireland, and the Netherlands.
  • I referee and NSO which means over some 275 bouts I have participated in every single position on the track except for scorekeeper (for some odd reason).
  • I am also an announcer having started announcing in 2008 as a guest of the Ithaca League of Women Rollers. I’m unaffiliated, but I can often be heard on WFTDA.tv during ECDX and usually one of the playoffs. Last year it was Eastern Regionals. This year I was on the stream for D1 Richmond. I also announced for World Cup 2011 and had the honor of covering the stream for Stars vs. Strips at that event.
  • If I had to pick a favorite album I guess it would be Miles Davis’ Bitches Brew – after which I named myself. I feel that it is the jazz representation of roller derby.
  • I’m a Libra and I teach computer programming and applications at my local community college.
  • My personal derby web site is Promise of Derby
  • Outside of derby I enjoy sailing, but I also spend pretty much all my spare time pioneering with my husband to build our new house on 10 acres. We’re cutting down the trees ourselves, milling our own lumber, working the land with heavy equipment (backhoe, bulldozer, skid steer, concrete mixer) that we own and maintain. It’s a very long term project.
  • Not much scares me except the idiocy of crowds.
  • I have a new puppy this year and she makes me laugh and keeps me entertained. She’s very energetic.
  • Elevating awareness of banned books is important because art reflects our humanity. Trying to sanitize away our selves and the things that live deep inside us serves no one. There is no such thing as “bad words” or even bad images (so long as bad things weren’t done to create them).

Find out more about the awesome people behind ECDD and support these wonderful people! 

Love ECDD on facebook too.

bbdd

Banned books that Shaped America

About Laura K

Professional graphic artist, sign maker, designer. Quick, friendly, professional service tailored to your specific needs with great attention to detail. Satisfaction Guaranteed. Made in USA of made in USA materials.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

